1 800 262 4337
Home About Rooms & Rates Promotions Explore Ottawa Blog Contact CLOSE MENU

About

Our Inn

185 Daly was built as the family home of John McGee, clerk of the Privy Council in 1886. Their son, Frank McGee was a member of the Ottawa Silver Seven hockey team and one of hockey’s greatest scorers. Frank won the Stanley Cup twice and was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 1945.

The Armstrong family took over the Inn in 2003. It’s now run by Ken and Judy, their son Jason and his wife Sarah. They did extensive renovations and redecorating, turning it into one of the top inns in Canada. McGee’s Inn has won the BedandBreakfast.com award two years running and has been profiled in several magazines and on local television. A stay at McGee’s Inn has been a prize on “Wheel of Fortune” on two separate occasions.

Walk through the Inn and you will see the fruits of their labour. The dining room features part of Ken’s Norman Rockwell collection; including the “Four Freedoms” posters. The parlour features the works of Canadian artist Walter Campbell and a collection of antique cameras. The highlight is a player piano that’s been in the family for generations. 

Climb the staircase and you’ll find more collections and antiques, including a manual typewrite, adding machine and even a spinning wheel. Each of the 14 rooms have been individually decorated. The Egyptian Room and the Victorian Suite each feature a double jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The John McGee Room is decorated with interesting antiques and also features a fireplace. On the top floor is the Windsor Room with a four poster canopy bed and a bathroom that includes a combination double whirlpool tub and shower with a built in TV.

McGee’s Inn is just steps from the Rideau Canal, the ByWard Market, the Congress Centre, the University of Ottawa and Parliament Hill. Whether you’re in town for a weekend getaway, visiting friends or for a convention, just about every major attraction is within walking distance. Ottawa is one of the most exciting cities in Canada, with almost too many museums and festivals to count and great shopping. Even in the middle of winter, it’s a great place to be. Skate on the world’s largest skating rink — right in the heart of the city! Skiing is only a short drive and the Casino is even closer. For skiers, it’s only a short drive, minutes away from Camp Fortune. 

If you’re planning a trip to Canada’s capital, you can’t go wrong with a stay at McGee’s Inn.
 

No wonder this B&B is recommended in so many guide books. - Jean & Francoise Perrot, France

See more Feedback

No wonder this B&B is recommended in so many guide books. - Jean & Francoise Perrot, France

See more Feedback

1 800 262 4337
Maison Sur Chambres et Tarifs Promotions Découvrez Ottawa Blog Contactez CLOSE MENU

Sur

Notre auberge
La maison à 185 avenue Daly a été construite comme la maison familiale de John McGee, greffier du Conseil privé en 1886. Leur fils, Frank McGee était un membre de l’équipe de hockey Silver Seven d’Ottawa et l’un des plus grands buteurs de hockey. Frank a remporté la Coupe Stanley à deux reprises et a été intronisé au Temple de la renommée du hockey en 1945.

La famille Armstrong a repris l’auberge en 2003. Elle est aujourd’hui dirigé par Ken et Judy, leur fils Jason et sa femme Sarah. Ils ont fait d’importantes rénovations et redécorer, la transformant en l’une des meilleures auberges au Canada. L’auberge McGee a remporté le prix BedandBreakfast.com deux années consécutives et a été profilé dans plusieurs magazines et à la télévision locale. Un séjour à l’auberge McGee a été l’un des prix de ‘’Wheel of Fortune’’ à deux reprises.

Promenez-vous dans l’auberge et vous verrez les fruits de leur travail. La salle à manger dispose d’une partie de la collection Norman Rockwell de Ken ; y compris les affiches ‘’quatre libertés’’. Le salon présente les œuvres de l’artiste canadien Walter Campbell et une collection de caméras anciennes. Le point culminant est un piano de joueur qui a été dans la famille depuis des générations.

Montez l’escalier et vous trouverez plus de collections et antiquités, y compris une machine à écrire manuelle, une machine à additionner et même un rouet. Chacune des 14 chambres ont été décorées individuellement. La salle égyptienne et la suite victorienne disposent toutes deux d’une baignoire jacuzzi double et cheminée. La chambre John McGee est décorée avec des antiquités intéressantes comprend une cheminée aussi. A l’étage supérieur est la chambre Windsor ave un lit à baldaquin et une salle de bain qui comprend une combinaison bain tourbillon, baignoire double et une douche avec télévision.

L’auberge McGee se trouve à seulement quelques pas du canal Rideau, le marché By, les centres des Confèrences, l’université d’Ottawa et la Colline du Parlement. Que vous soyez en ville pour un week-end, visitez des amis ou pour une convention, à peu près toutes les attractions majeures sont à deux pas. Ottawa est l’une des villes les plus intéressantes au Canada, avec presque trop nombreux musées et festivals à compter et grands magasins. Même au milieu de l’hiver, c’est un excellent endroit pour y être. Patinez sur la plus grande patinoire au monde – en plein cœur de la ville ! Le ski est seulement à une courte distance en voiture et le casino est encore plus proche. Pour les skieurs, ce n’est qu’une courte distance en voiture, à quelques minutes du Camp  Fortune.

Si vous prévoyez un voyage à la capitale du Canada, vous ne pouvez pas vous tromper avec un séjour à l’auberge McGee.
 

- Doug Cambell, Montreal

Voir plus de réactions